Skip to content

A Visit to Hawaii: No Trike, but We’re Traveling

March 1, 2017

For the past several years Tim has been working on a computer simulation program for his former Ithaca boss, Ray Carruthers.  Ray and his wife Nada live on Hawaii now and Ray is working on controlling the Coffee Berry Borer.  Tim is a programmer working on a simulation for this project.  You might ask Tim more about his work.  My aim for this post is to tell you what I’ve been doing on my first trip to Hawaii.  We’re staying at the Dolphin Bay Hotel in Hilo.  Tim has been at work at Ray’s lab for the last week and I’ve been doing what I like best—taking pictures—mostly of plants.

Saturday, February 18

We left Ithaca at 6:00am EST on Saturday and (3 flights later) arrived in Hilo, HI at 8:55pm Hawaii–Aleutian Standard Time (HAST).

Sunday, February 19

On Sunday, Tim took the day to recover and I (who didn’t know any better) started my Hawaiian adventures.

I went to the 7:30am service at the Church of the Holy Apostles, and got to meet a young lady (and her family) who hopes to go to Cornell when she graduates in three years. I returned to the hotel for lunch with Tim and then started a tour of the island, (there’s an app for that) using Gypsy Tours as my guide.  My plan was to circle the island.  What I didn’t do was estimate how long it would take to do that.  I worked my way northwest, stopping at Akaka Falls and and Kahuna Falls for a short hike and a picture:

falls-in-hi-img_5156

Another stop and small tour at Laupahoehoe Point Beach Park where a 1946 title wave took the lives of 20 students and four teachers.  It’s now a memorial park.

laupahoehoe-point-beach-park

As I continued my circle tour I slowly realized where I actually was and how far I had to go. Somewhere around Kailua-Kona, (You’ll have to look at the link to see it.  It was getting dark and I didn’t stop for pictures) I found that the Saddle Road, directly across the island to Hilo would be my quickest route back.  I drove through the mountain pass—up and down in just under two hours.  It was totally dark so I had to return another day to see the landscape.  That was my first adventure in enjoying myself and not planning:-)

Monday, February 20:

Monday was Presidents’ Day so Tim didn’t have to report for work.  Jet lag began to hit me by then so even I took it easy.  I found a plant next to our hotel driveway for a closeup and we walked around town for better maps and sundry supplies.

The plant by the driveway is Tapeinochilos ananassae or Indonesian wax ginger.  Like many other plants in Hawaii, it’s not native. My friend Connie asked if you can eat it. There are ginger plants of all sorts on Hawaii, most (I think) not native.   Here’s a shot of a poster near Ray’s office on how to get seeds for edible ginger. I still don’t know which ginger species are native to the island.

img_5611

My first two focus stacked pictures from Hawaii:
Tapeinochilos ananassae or Indonesian wax ginger.  Thanks Bob Wesley for the ID!

tapeinochilos-ananassae-9627-96492017-02-20-12-59-35-zs-pmaxtapeinochilos-ananassae-9532-9598-2017-02-20-12-45-03-zs-pmax

Tuesday, February 21

Tim started work today and I started my next adventure.  I visited the Hawaiian Tropical Botanical Gardens not too far northwest of Hilo.  Hoping to take closeups of some of the plants I saw, I brought my Canon 6D, all the attachments that make Focus Stacking work, and my tripod (also lunch, water, etc etc). I enjoyed the walk and saw a few possibilities.  My first was a “landscape” of the rainforest floor:hawaiin-forest-floor-color-9653-9694-2017-02-21-19-50-01-zs-pmax

My second was an attempt to make a picture over moving water of ferns that were growing on the side of this wall (iPhone picture):

img_5266

After I set up my camera on the tripod attached to the remote android computer, it started to rain.  It takes about 10 minutes to make the setup and I hate quitting after all that effort—so I didn’t.  I finished the series and scooped everything up to make a dash for a protected area where I could dry everything off.  All seemed OK so I continued my walk to the point the furthest away from the parking lot (maybe a mile or so).  I had found another ginger and I really wanted to work with it.  iPhone picture below.

img_5212I set everything up again and took a picture (or tried to). The shutter button worked, but the review button stopped reviewing the picture last taken.  Instead it opened up live-view.  I had a short! Inside the camera! Arghhh!  What to do?  I heard rice was a solution so I picked everything up, got myself back to the car and headed to a grocery store. I bought a big bag of rice and a roll of 2 gallon ziplock bags.  As soon as I returned to the car I dumped my camera into a plastic bag with rice and sealed it.  When I picked Tim up, his opinion was that rice was a poor solution.  I needed a desiccant like silica gel packets.  Nowhere could we find any in Hilo (at least not listed on the internet).  We ended up getting a bag of DampRid at Home Depot.  I next read a horror story about a guy whose gun started dissolving in a cabinet when it was stored with DampRid, but others were happy with it, so when we got back to the hotel I put my camera (aka Edward, after my father) in a new sealed bag with a cup half-filled with DampRid in the same bag.

Wednesday, February 22

With bated breath, I opened the bag in the morning, put the battery and memory card back in and tried the camera.  It worked!  Thank you so much! But now the memory card didn’t want to click into place.  I could close it in and take a picture, but it wouldn’t stay in by itself.  It seems a grain of rice had gotten stuck in the slot:-(  Tim tried to get it out, and almost succeeded, but not quite.  He needed a longer thinner tool. While he was working I looked for a camera repair shop.  There is a Canon store in Honolulu ($200 flight) but they would need 3 to 5 business days to fix the camera.  I was resigned to spending the rest of my time in Hawaii with just my iPhone.  I have a new app for the phone, Focus Camera, that takes focus stacked pictures.  It takes three pictures and knits them together.  It’s not the same as 50 or more pictures taken with my Canon 6D, but it’s something.  I’ve found it helpful for trying out possible subjects.  With very little time I can get a better idea of what a finished picture might look like.  Thanks to Stan Bowman for telling me about it.

Tim doesn’t give up easily so we went off together to USDA ARS Hilo to the lab where Tim was working.  Ray wasn’t in town so we went to another lab where I met Nick, Forest, Melissa, and Travis. Tim started looking around for a magic tool and Forest wanted to know more about the problem.  Forest is another fixer (aka research assistant) who doesn’t like to give up.

_mg_9780

So what happened?

First with a long narrow pair of tweezers,

img_5217

And next with the addition of a light and a magnifier,

img_5230

Forest got the grain of rice out (that took him about 30 seconds) and then realigned the metal connector that I had bent when forcing in the card.  Again, with bated breath, I tried it out and…it worked! Thank you Forest!!

Not wanting to rush off I stayed to see the results of Forest’s work with a Drone camera.

img_5237img_5238

You’ll notice Tim hanging on to his desire for us to have a drone like that.  We could use it for our Six Mile Creek project which is going to be on display at the History Center in Ithaca in April.  Can we afford it? Will we have time? Time will tell.

I spent the rest of the day at the Hawaii Botanical Tropical Garden and across the street from our hotel making more stacked pictures.  Here is one.  I’m still deciding about black and white vs color in Hawaii, but for now I’m sticking with black and white.

Alpinia gigantifolia ‘Toni Parson’ (Toni Parson ginger)
alpinia-gigantifolia-toni-parsonbw-9797-9825-2017-02-22-16-21-11-zs-retouched

When I brought a set of pictures taken near the hotel later in the day inside to download, it seemed at first they weren’t all on the card.  I put the card back in the camera to check.  Suddenly I couldn’t read it.  “The write protect switch is on.” But it wasn’t.  What should I do?  I suspected general dampness (along with the agony of the earlier repair). Hilo has had an average rainfall of 156.79 inches.  It rains a lot on this side of the island.  Hoping DampRid would work again I put my camera back in the bag and went to bed.

Thursday, February 23

The night in the bag with DampRid worked again.  The card was readable and all buttons were working:-)
From across the street from Dolphin Bay Hotel:

Cana indica (Indian shot)   Thank you Bob Wesley for the ID!
canna-indica-bw9933-9999-2017-02-23-17-24-29-zs-retouched

I decided for the rest of the day to take a break from wet weather.  This is easy to do in Hawaii.  All you do is cross the island and you’re in a desert.  I visited Pua Mau Place on the northwest side of the island.  It was sunny (as promised) and dry.  I didn’t really see candidates for focus stacking, but I enjoyed my walk around the area.

I returned to Hilo via the Saddle Road, this time in the daylight.  I was passing through cowboy country—lush fields with black angus cattle.  I stopped just once to take a picture for Toby McDonald and Lisa Coleman.

img_5320_1No cows in this one, but they were around, honest. Another picture I didn’t take was of cactus growing in a large green pasture.  Unusual sight for a person from upstate New York!

Friday, February 24

Friday I was back visiting gardens near Hilo.  Strangely enough I missed the clouds and humidity.
First Tim and I visited a small garden of Bromeliads on the UH campus not far from Ray’s lab.
img_5331

Next, after I dropped Tim off, I drove to Botanical World Adventures.  I skipped the zip lines and set off to see the plants.  I spent a couple of hours walking up the Rainforest Trail.  I saw no one else and enjoyed the walk.  Strangely enough it was sunny out (and breezy), so I struggled with my camera and tripod to get the light where I wanted it to be.

Here is an experiment in an area filled with Passion Flowers.
For milly acharya and Dede Hatch:passion-flower-cropped0332-0362-2017-02-25-07-21-01-zs-retouched

I didn’t see the rest of the trails.  I’d like to go back, but may run out of time.

Saturday, February 25

Tim didn’t have to work so we headed off together to walk the Kilauea Iki Trail in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.  Tom Vawter and Ray told us we had to do this and they were right.  It seems most everywhere I go, it’s my new favorite and I want to return.  The trail down to the crater was full of potential focus stacking pictures. I’d be back the next day to take them.

Here are a few of my iPhone pictures from my walk with Tim:

 

There was a special treat on the way down (almost to the crater).  I’m afraid it was too far and too steep for carrying my gear the next day.  Thinking of you Dave LoParco and Bard Prentiss:
img_5395img_5427

We stopped for lunch at the Volcano House for another good view of the crater.  My main picture for that moment was of Tim in natural light:-)
img_5507

After we returned Tim took a nap while I tried a new view of Cana indica across the street.  I hadn’t tried the Canon before I left the hotel and I forgot the piece of plastic I have for sitting on the ground.  Both were mistakes.  After getting all set up, once again, the card said it was set for read only (only it wasn’t). And I had my own set of invisible bites where I had been sitting on the sidewalk (big itch).  Again Edward the Camera went back to his dry bag and I did what I could with anti-itch cream and a walk.  Next day we were both better.

Sunday, February 26

My plan was to take it easy, recover from our 8 miles walked the day before, and start this blog. The forecast was for lots of rain and it seemed like time for a rest.  But the forecast was wrong.  Rain big time was now predicted for Monday and Tuesday.  Sunday was calm (no wind) and cloudy.  Perfect conditions for focus stackers.  Tim took the day of rest and I returned to the Kilauea Iki trail for slow travel with my Canon and tripod.  I took several sets of pictures of two species of fern.

Below are a few:
Dicranopteris linearis (Uluhe)


Cibotium glaucium (Hapu’u pulu)

I finished my second visit to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park with a walk through a lava tunnel and a visit to the Jaggar Museum for a glimpse of molten lava:

It was a wonderful day!

Monday and Tuesday, February 27 and 28

The forecasted rain arrived in Hilo.  I’ve been visiting local sites: Rainbow Falls, Boiling Pots, Richardson Beach, and working on this blog.

Tomorrow we’re to visit coffee fields and other highlights of the island with Ray.

 

 

 

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2017 8:53 pm

    Beautiful, Suzy. I just returned from Maui 2 weeks ago – so, exciting to see your pics and hear about your adventures 🙂

    • March 1, 2017 10:37 pm

      Shannon – I read your post about exchanging your “normal” rental car for a Mustang to finish your visit. I decided our planes probably crossed paths somewhere between Hawaii and home:-)

  2. Carol permalink
    March 1, 2017 9:40 pm

    Hi Suzy!
    We were on 4 of the Hawaiian Islands in December. Your pictures brought back sights seen from Hilo. You were also lucky to see the lava at the national park. It’s often cloud covered.
    Enjoy all while I enjoy your photography!
    Carol

  3. March 1, 2017 10:11 pm

    Thanks for sharing Suzy! Beautiful pictures! Bravo! Tim is looking more like Shakespeare than ever! Lovely portrait! Love to all –
    John & Esther

  4. Emoretta Yang permalink
    March 2, 2017 2:37 am

    Mahalo, Suzy, for sending the link to this trip’s blog! Your photos are beautiful, beautiful, and, as always, I especially love the black-&-white focus-stacked close-ups!

    In exchange, if you have 8 minutes, here’s my favorite music video of a favorite Hawaiian song, “Hawaii Aloha”. This version has a brief introduction that explains the video project, which was part of “Playing for Change”, its background and participants.

    Aloha! Safe return!

    Emoretta (a.k.a. Auntie Emo)

  5. Manuela permalink
    March 2, 2017 8:01 am

    Wow there are some fabulous shots here!!
    I hope you continue to enjoy all this beauty and fall in love with the moment!

    Love
    Manuela 😘

  6. Roni Fuller permalink
    March 2, 2017 10:48 am

    Suzy, as always, it is great fun to read about and see your adventures. The photographs are stunning. I am taken back to the trip the five Fullers took, a bit over twenty years ago, spending ten days on the Big Island and ten days on Kauai. A most amazing place. I wrote a Crown of Sonnets about Hawaii afterward.
    Roni

  7. Beatrice Gnirs-Busch permalink
    March 2, 2017 11:03 am

    What a unique experience. You are certainly getting some beautiful and interesting shots. Love the passion flower. Enviromentally Hawaii is in a very precarious situation. Great opportunity for you, I’m sure you didn’t miss the trike!

  8. Margaret Kimbell permalink
    March 2, 2017 11:05 am

    hope you both have fun.

  9. Jane Walker permalink
    March 2, 2017 3:07 pm

    Great adventure! Thanks for sharing it.

  10. Abby Eller permalink
    March 3, 2017 8:59 am

    Suzy, What a perfect walking and shooting adventure for you.All that camera problem-solving and good results too. The shots are beautiful. A lot of detail. Enjoy yourself to the hilt.

    ~Abby

  11. Jane Matteis permalink
    March 3, 2017 8:43 pm

    It’s so good to hear from you, and from such a beautiful place. Hope you both have a wonderful time. Thanks for news and lovely pictures.
    Jane

Leave a Reply

