Skip to content

Notes from the porch

June 28, 2012

If you're on the Ice Cream Diet, and go to the National Hotel for dinner, you will be disappointed, because ice cream is not on the dessert menu. You'll need to improvise.

I had the usual.

The National Hotel chef did not knock Dead Eye Dick off the clam chowder pedestal.

We sat on the porch overlooking Water Street and Old Harbor. After I finished the chowder, I ate the oyster crackers very slowly. I did not want a moment to open when the only item on the table I could eat would be Mud Pie. I wasn't sure I could restrain myself from piracy.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2012 12:10 am

    Surely you do not mean that Suzy (the cruel and heartless) would not share dessert with you even after you rescued her from the impending rainstorm? And why are you showing us all these incredible yummies that we can’t have? I think I hear evil laughter in the background…

    • tslarkin permalink*
      June 29, 2012 3:04 pm

      I infer from your various comments about dessert that some cruel, heartless person has your diet on a very short leash. Who might that be?

      “Ice cream without cream.” Who ever heard of such a thing?

  2. Tim Levatich permalink
    June 29, 2012 2:19 pm

    Yes, John is right. Evil laughter….

Leave a Reply

