Skip to content

Block Island Hikes: Part IV

June 28, 2012

Two extras before I share this morning’s hike to the beach.

Tim’s post about our visit to the transfer station (aka dump), featured the clouds above the weighing station. This is what you see if you look to the right.

 

At the Wednesday Farmer’s Market I bought a large container of kale salad and a bag of spinach. I couldn’t get a good picture of the spinach, so I took one of fresh kale instead. Both the kale salad and the spinach are excellent!

 

This morning I took this year’s first hike to an actual beach. I walked down Beacon Road and then to the beach via Grace’s Cove Road. I walked along the beach to Dories Cove, and then returned to the Schneider house the same way I came. The walk was under five miles.

 


On Beacon Road I stopped to sit and take a picture of the farm. The bench is available for weary travelers, both on the road and those passing through on the Greenway trail.

 

The entrance to the beach reminded me of Tuckernuck, except that along with the rocks there were broken pieces of pavement.

 

Perfect conditions for pictures (using Pro HDR on the iPhone) of my hand. It took me over a half hour to make it to the beach.

 

 

It was almost 10am but no one was there. What a treasure!

 

There are signs that it isn’t always this empty, but there is very little trash.

 

In spite of the bright sunshine (not my favorite) I found many backgrounds for my hand that worked. I can’t imagine how wonderful this would be if I returned on a cloudy day.

 

 

On my way back to Beacon Hill Road I passed this sign. Must be true because I saw a deer just down the road.

Tim is playing the shakuhachi flute on the front porch. It’s time I posted this so we can have our dinner date at the National Hotel.

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Libby Hedrick permalink
    June 28, 2012 6:11 pm

    What a fascinating place!!!

  2. June 29, 2012 12:17 am

    Great photos Suzy! Thanks! Is this beach facing the open ocean or back to the mainland?

  3. June 29, 2012 5:57 am

    The beach is on the west side of the island, facing the end of Long Island Sound. I tried to paste a Google map into this comment, but the program woudn’t let me.

  4. Jean McPheeters permalink
    June 29, 2012 9:42 am

    I so love the ocean. I’m really looking forward to Rhode Island in August. When are you going to run into the waves??

    • June 29, 2012 1:11 pm

      I haven’t done that for a long time. Don’t know why really. But this year I’ve spent more time at the beach than in years past. I’m ready to circle the island on the beach, but we’re out of time. Maybe next year.

Leave a Reply

