Skip to content

Block Island Hikes: Part II

June 26, 2012

The day after my six plus mile walk was a bit of a rest day for my feet. Instead of walking, I rode Sheila’s bike up to Mansion Road on the north end of the island. The trip was over 7 miles, but much easier for my feet—bikes are so much faster than walking!

 

 

The blue line marks my trip. I got distracted while riding and overshot my right turn to the beach. It’s a wonder what you can miss when you’re speeding along.

 

 

 

The trick to riding the bike was figuring out how to attach the tripod. I used a bungee cord and a role of velcro. My first attempt stopped all shifting because I wrapped the cord around the shift cable, but I got it working with my second try.

 

 

 

 

All that is left of the mansion that was once here is the foundation—another spot to look for close-ups.

 

 

This photograph of the lichens was taken with my Olloclip lens on my iPhone.

 

 

 

More backgrounds for iPhone hand photographs using ProHDR.

 

 

When I returned from this adventure, my walking muscles had recovered and I was ready for another hike the next day. I decided that keeping the GPS running on the iPhone was using too much battery power. There wasn’t enough left to take all my pictures. This trail route uses a Google Map and Adobe Ideas to trace the route with Tim’s Boxwave stylus. The reason Tim is added to the map comes at the end of this story.

 

 

The Schneiders’ house is just down the road from the airport. I started the day with breakfast at Bethany’s, the airport diner that opens at 6 am. I was there at six and watched a flight take off.

 

 

I’m including the photograph of this daylily to show the light at this early hour. Much better than the sun at noon.

 

 

I had a couple of hikes in mind and although the forecast said rain was coming, I saw no sign of it. I chose the longer walk and hoped I’d get back to shelter in time. This is one of my favorite houses on Old Mill Road. I love the tower and if you look closely, you might be able to see the door through the hedge. I’m thinking Margot would tell me it’s boxwood, but I’m not sure.

 

 

Just past the farm I turned in for a walk on a Greenway trail.

 

 

As I walked I kept stopping for pictures to show how the trail varies. What I wasn’t especially paying attention to was the sky.

 

 

Thunder accompanied some of these clouds and I began to walk faster, wishing I’d packed a plastic bag for my iPhone. Tim sent me a text message and said the rain would start in 35 minutes.

 

 

As I almost ran down the road, thinking I’d accept a ride from a stranger if one were offered, Tim came along to pick me up. I hopped on and we made it back to the house with minutes to spare before the deluge. Thank you Tim!!

PS: You might wonder how Tim knew where I was. He watched my progress with the Find Friends app on his iPhone. One phone can find another—most of the time.

 

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Margot in Mystic permalink
    June 26, 2012 3:47 pm

    Great story! Tim to the rescue. I love the photo at the airport, framed with the dayliles and hydrangea. Let me see…the hedge with the door cut through might have been boxwood, maybe just Nantucket privet. Have Tim ride you over there before Bethany’s opens at 6 for a closer shot. You don’t mind trespassing just a tiny bit closer, do you?

    • June 26, 2012 7:48 pm

      I had breakfast again at Bethany’s this morning and walked past my favorite house again. I actually thought about creeping up the driveway for a closer look at the hedge, but decided against it. Maybe next year I’ll have a better lens.

  2. June 26, 2012 3:49 pm

    For being such a good Timmy and rescuing the hapless Suzy, Tim may have another ice cream.

    • June 26, 2012 7:47 pm

      We took your advice. Except that Tim had a bowl of clam chower for his reward and I had an ice cream cone—dinner out!

  3. Tom permalink
    June 26, 2012 5:53 pm

    Hey, Suzy, thanks for the great idea for a country tune. In “Happy Hour”, a guy stops for a drink and finds his wife “slow dancing in another man’s arms.” What if Tim had used “Find Friends” and found you doing something other than trying to outrun the rain. Let’s see, maybe key of G.

  4. Roni Fuller permalink
    June 26, 2012 6:05 pm

    I’m happily following the adventures of the trip, and now on the island. Suzy, your lovely shot which you identify as lichen, I think may be a liverwort, one of my favorite beasts in the botanical world. Both of you please keep up the narrative. It’s wonderful, and perhaps is also a book.
    Roni

    • June 26, 2012 7:36 pm

      Roni,
      I’m glad you’re enjoying the account of our trip. I remember collecting liverworts when I was a teachers’ assistant at IHS in 1970. They were growing on the rocks near the Ithaca Falls. Don’t liverworts require a very wet environment? The red/brown plants that cover so many rocks here don’t have a lot of water. Only what they collect when it rains. But they aren’t like the lichens I know at home (or at least the ones I pay attention to).

  5. Libby Hedrick permalink
    June 26, 2012 9:05 pm

    Terrific story!! Thank you, Tim! 🙂

  6. Lee Miller permalink
    June 26, 2012 10:56 pm

    I looked at all the APPs for “Find Friends”, and found that “Phone Tracker for iPhone” had lots more positive reviews than Apple’s “Find Friends”. Did you compare them? Why did you prefer the Apple APP?

    • tslarkin permalink*
      June 27, 2012 7:45 am

      I wasn’t as inquisitive as you are. I read about “Find My Friends” and got it, without looking for alternatives. Because I’m an Apple Fanboi.

      Tim

  7. Jean McPheeters permalink
    June 27, 2012 10:13 am

    Tim is a hero; Suzy is an adventurer (adventuress has unfortunate connotations). I am feeling envious–I need a vacation.

    • June 27, 2012 3:28 pm

      I hope you get to go on one soon. I’ve found no other way to break the ties to all the other things we do at home.

    • tslarkin permalink*
      June 28, 2012 7:22 am

      The great appeal of Block Island as a vacation spot is that there is nothing to do. There is one gallery, but no museums. There’s no shopping, unless you’re in the market for a T-shirt. There’s no theater. There’s one cinema, that shows one film per week. There’s no place to go on Block Island except Block Island. If you were really energetic, you could take a ferry to Newport and spend a day looking at the cottages. This is the antithesis of the spot favored by the Type-A vacationer (I think you know to whom I refer). The fact that there’s not much to do fully justifies and rationalizes the decision to spend the day reading a mystery.

Leave a Reply

