Skip to content

Block Island Hikes: Part I

June 25, 2012

The Friday after Andy and Anneke left it was too hot to do much of anything. I expect we could have baked on the beach, but it didn’t appeal. Instead, with a forecast for cooler weather, we mostly waited. I took a short walk in the evening and just made it back to the house before it started to rain. Saturday was much cooler and I decided it was time for a longer hike. There are thirty miles of walking trails (the Greenway) on Block Island, and I have favorites to revisit each year. With little training for long hikes, I packed my knapsack with water, a map, and my tripod. The iPhone (camera) was in my pocket.

I turned on the MotionX-GPS in my iPhone before I left and recorded the hike. In the end it was 6.5 miles and took me three and a half hours. I also neglected to pack a hat and the sun was blazing. Other than the fact that I thought my feet might fall off when I was finished, I had a good time.

This shows the road just up from the Schneiders’ house. The walk up the hill to the trail isn’t very long.

The trail leaves the road and circles Fresh Pond.

After the trail reaches the shore, I turn left and follow a private road back out to the main road. I didn’t know it was a private road until I reached the two stone towers on my way out. So in theory I still don’t know it’s a private road until I leave it. I love those two towers. I spend extra time each year circling them and looking for close-ups.

 

They are a wonderful combination of stone, lichens (I think), metal, and rust.

This is when I wish my friend and fellow photographer Mary Kelsey were with me.

 

When I reached the road, I met a lovely family selling lemonade to weary travelers. But alas, I forgot to bring any money. I scraped the bottom of my knapsack and found eleven cents. I had water, but lemonade sounded like a wonderful treat. With a bit of advice from their mom, the girls decided to give me a cup for eleven cents. Their mom told them they were spreading good karma, and that it would be my job to pass the favor forward. I will definitely keep that in mind. Thank you!!

I circled Sands Pond while walking back via Payne Road. I followed the clouds as I walked. Some of them were magnificent.

I have photographs ready for two more trips, but I hope to get up early tomorrow for another walk. I’ll continue the story later.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Margot in Mystic permalink
    June 25, 2012 9:04 pm

    The photo with the clouds and stone wall is my favorite so far! Beautiful. You may not be visiting Nantucket, but your mother’s artistic spirit has definitely found you on Block.

  2. biglee permalink
    June 25, 2012 11:59 pm

    Lovely posts (with those colorful lichens and rust), water, clouds, sky, and your report. Thank you for sharing … you have already pssed the karma forward.

  3. Libby Hedrick permalink
    June 26, 2012 10:14 am

    wonderful, Suzy – all of it!

Leave a Reply

