Skip to content

Old Saybrook to Mystic

June 18, 2012

Tim has been very good about sending blogs as we go. I kept up pretty well until we neared the shore. Must be the air, but I didn’t want to do much more than look at pictures and hit the sack each night. Now that we have reached Block Island and are happily enconced at the Schneider House, 554 Center Road, I’ll see if I can catch up.

Tim promised more about the missed ice cream opportunities between Old Saybrook and Mystic. This happened because we stayed overnight at the Comfort Inn, Old Saybrook. It was a wonderful place to stay, and I would stay there again EXCEPT we left too early to find any of the ice cream shops open. Since you haven’t been able to taste the ice cream anyway, you could still benefit from a photo survey of three ice cream shops between Old Saybrook and Mystic. There may be more of them, but these are the three we saw.

Here’s the first: Old Lyme Ice Cream Shoppe. A short detour out of our way, but a lovely ride. We learned about this ice cream (and tried some) at the Pilot House. We arrived around 10am.

Next, again too early, we visited Hallmark. We have tried their ice cream on other trips—wonderful!

We hadn’t heard about this one, but I’m sad to say, it too was closed. (Open means open for the season, not necessarily open now) We were hungry by this time, so we bought a snack at the convenience store next door.

Next the ride through New London. I love this ride. I think I have asked Tim to stop for this picture before, but oh well, I did it again. For our friend Christina.

Highlights of New London—at least from my point of view

Tim sitting by the Mystic River and composing a blog entry.

Highlights of Mystic

Another leg of our trip completed. We have arrived at Tim’s sister and brother-in-law’s house on Mason’s Island in Mystic. More in my next blog about our final ride to the ferry at Point Judith.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2012 10:04 am

    You enjoy torturing your readers with visions of ice cream, don’t you? I got some for Father’s Day, on your account – low fat Rocky Road (absolutely no calories). It’s your fault and I’m sending you the bill! (BTW Suzie – Danielle sent lovely pictures of our Culver house – many thanks!)

    • GregK permalink
      June 18, 2012 4:00 pm

      So sorry, John.
      no fat + no calories = no ice cream

  2. June 18, 2012 10:52 am

    I’m afraid visions were all we had on that day as well. I’m so glad you got to see pictures of your old house. Wonderful news!

  3. Libby Hedrick permalink
    June 18, 2012 10:56 am

    All this talk (and photos) about ice cream is making my mouth water. I might have to nip up the road to the Purity shop – corner of Tr. 96 and King.

Leave a Reply

