Skip to content

June 9: Oneonta to Windham

June 9, 2012

Back to Denny’s for breakfast. This is Tim at Denny’s the night before. Same place, different time.

We packed, wrapped everything in plastic bags (especially our iPhones), and started east on Route 23 in the rain.

 

We rode up hills and down hills—in the rain. Trucks and cars sprayed their wake on us and we sprayed our own wake on ourselves. I noticed all sorts of potential pictures:

My favorite white car stuck up in the air coming out of Oneonta

A set of two silos with a grand entrance (stairs and large side railings) between them. I thought of my friend Sophia and her study of silos

Glorious piles of rocks, of gravel, of tree stumps. I thought of our friend Ed and his study

Wrecked rusty cars and trucks. I thought of my friend Mary and what fine images she might make

Buildings sliding back into the earth and I thought of my friend Jerry and how he would record them

The list of potential photographs could go on and on. . . but I regret to say, I didn’t take any of them. My phone was in my pocket wrapped in a plastic bag.

This is the only picture I took. I saw the slug during a trip to the “necessary” (I think that’s what Bethia called it in Caleb’s Crossing). It was a wonderful day for a slug. He seemed quite happy. Later alongside the road I saw a large group of yellow snails, many with brown stripes. I don’t think I have ever seen snails like this. But we didn’t stop, so I didn’t get a photograph.

We stopped for a second breakfast in Stamford and thankfully there was no air-conditioning in the cafe. Here Tim is drying off with the travel towel our friend Jane gave us. It’s a wonderful comfort when every inch of you is wet and you are looking for relief.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tim lent me his Block Island sweatshirt for our visit to the warm indoors. Good rest. When it was time to go, we put all our wet clothes back on again and resumed our trip. I think gortex raincoats start out as raincoats and end up as wetsuits. Somehow they do help you stay warm, but not particularly dry.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Later in the afternoon the rain stopped. One thought I had about why we do this—why we keep riding when it’s raining (beyond sticking to a schedule) is that it feels so good when the rain stops. It was a good ride. We covered 50 miles and arrived at the Thompson House in Windham for a welcome break. Tomorrow we’re not going anywhere.

 

 

 

 

The view our our back window.

 

I am almost finished with Caleb’s Crossing and tomorrow will resume my reading of an Italian mystery series by Andrea Camilleri. Thanks to my friend Poppy I have a new series to work my way through.

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Libby Hedrick permalink
    June 9, 2012 9:55 pm

    Oh, gosh, Suzy, I am so sorry about all this rain!! Wonderful little slug!!
    Sending dry thoughts!

    • June 10, 2012 9:10 am

      Thanks Libby. The rain did stop yesterday, and today it’s bright and sunny. Good thinking skills!

  2. June 9, 2012 11:29 pm

    Tim is looking like Capt. Piccard of Star Trek. By the way, how does Tim know if Suzy is pedaling back there? Mirrors? But maybe she’s just going through the motions? Just a thought. Anyway, thanks for the lovely poem, Tim, and the nice picture, Suzy. Where was the picture taken? Looks like a neat pond (swamp) with lots of ferns and frogs!

    • June 10, 2012 9:22 am

      Tim feels the difference if I’m not pedaling. One thing about leaving my SLR camera behind is that I spend less time fooling with the camera and more time pedaling:-)
      The picture on the card was taken at the VonEngeln preserve in Dryden. It’s in Malloryville (or what used to be Malloryville). It’s one of the many preserved areas in Dryden—not too far from MacLean Bog.

  3. Katy Grace permalink
    June 9, 2012 11:52 pm

    Glad to know you’re taking a day of rest. Looks like a lovely place to be and it’s more enjoyable, no doubt, for having slogged through the rain today.

    • June 10, 2012 9:24 am

      Katy, you have it exactly right. There is no feeling I’ve found to match the exquisite tiredness and relaxation we find after a hard day of riding. It’s a total change from volunteer work and serious photography. Clears the head.

Leave a Reply

