Skip to content

PS – Book update

June 12, 2011

Yesterday I said I planned to read the first of the Maisie Dobbs series by Jacqueline Winspear. Before starting, I resumed reading The Kitchen House by Kathleen Grissom. My friend Sandy recommended this book and I read about half of it before I simply had to stop. I cared about the characters and too many of them were dying. I couldn’t take it anymore, so I read The Innocent Man because I had a clue that the accused would finally be exonerated. After finishing Grisham’s true story I decided to see what happened next in The Kitchen House. As Sandy had predicted, I couldn’t put it down. This morning I finished the book and read the author’s account of how she came to write the book. The story of strength against terrible odds is a powerful one. Thank you, Sandy, for recommending it.

Now back to a mystery. I need a bit of relief!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary-Lynn permalink
    June 12, 2011 7:53 pm

    I completely concur with Jean’s recommendation of the Maisie Dobbs series!

  2. Libby Hedrick permalink
    June 13, 2011 7:03 am

    Katie, Peter’s sister who came all the way from Mexico to help us celebrate our 50th, is reading a mystery that is keeping her up nights. When she emerges from her room I will get the name of it.

  3. Daisy Kirkpatrick permalink
    June 13, 2011 9:58 am

    I love anything written by Lois McMaster Bujold; her writing is superb. She is best known for the Vorkosigan saga which is the best kind of space opera. The first book in the series is Shards of Honor, also in an omnibus edition with Barrayar, titled Cordelia’s Honor. She also has created a medieval fantasy world which starts with The Curse of Chalion. And finally a series more aimed at young adults but a delightful read, the Sharing Knife series that starts with Beguilement. I think you mentioned that you have an eReader, a Nook, or Kindle or something, so maybe you can download one of them, it you are interested.

Leave a Reply

