Skip to content

Tired

May 27, 2011
tags:

First, to get the main thing out of the way, we arrived safely in Oneonta yesterday.

As soon as I started the bike rolling in Bainbridge, I saw that the left front tire was dead flat. I was “tired” right of the bat. We finally left at 8:45.

There was no sign of rain, but the day was hot. Maybe 85 isn’t hot for some people, but it was about 20 degrees warmer than we had been accustomed to, and the humidity was very high as well. The kind of day that whispers thunderstorms, even if they never develop.

We only had 30 miles to go. Maybe I didn’t drink enough water. I ate plenty of ice cream, so that wasn’t the problem. Maybe we were more exhausted by Wednesday’s ride than we thought. Whatever the reason, I was definitely dragging. Fortunately for me, the second engine was there to back me up. I finally decided I was suffering from a deficit of Ibuprofen. A few tablets improved my mood. But we weren’t far from our destination, so maybe it was just psychological.

We arrived in Oneonta around 1. I took a shower and a nap. We went out in the middle of the afternoon for a late lunch or early supper. Returned to the motel, where I fell asleep. I woke up around 6:30, ate some pretzels, and fell asleep. I woke around 10, gawked around the Internet for a while, took note of the tornado warnings, and fell asleep. We woke up at 6, went out for breakfast. Back at the motel, I fell asleep.

Today is a rest day. I think we could have pushed ahead to Stamford. The weather’s nice, sunny, with a breeze that would be at our backs. Instead we’re working on our blogs while having lunch at Applebee’s. After we’re done here, I’m going to take a nap. But I certainly don’t need a rest day.

– Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

Location:Oneonta, NY

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

