Skip to content

FUD

May 25, 2011

I woke up this morning with a bad case of FUD. It was not entirely irrational, but it was strengthened by the force of the Dark Side, which lingers from sleep time. The fear kept my mind from focussing on what I had to be afraid of. I was in a state of psychic paralysis.

I asked myself, “What’s there to be afraid of?” Everything! My God, what a stupid question. “What’s the worst that could happen?” Something very, very bad, that I don’t even want to think about. Complete, total, fatal, catastrophic failure. And that’s just the start of the possibilities. Did you ever see that movie about the car possessed by a demon that went cruising about killing people? I still remember the scene where it forces the bicyclist off a bridge. I still remember the shot of the bicyclist falling. O, there’s plenty to worry about.
Then there are the petty worries. Will it rain? Will the things I forgot to pack be important things? Will they be just the things that could have saved us when we’re in trouble and stranded and miles from help and in the Valley of the Shadow of No Cell Service? My tool kit has many tools that I have needed only once, and that one time didn’t own or forgot to pack.
In my restlessness and despair, I turned to my iPad for comfort. Kathy Hochul won NY-26! My heart leapt for joy, verily, as the white-tailed deer leaps over the garden fence. Life is good. I’m out of bed and up to the kitchen. Coffee is brewed. Coffee is drunk. Blog post is written. There’s no problem that can’t be fixed, not obstacle that can’t be overcome, by the judicious application of a credit card with a sufficiently high limit. The Newt-Meister says a $500,000 no-interest credit line is “normal”. This is America! Anything and everything is possible!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Margot Larkin permalink
    May 25, 2011 7:47 am

    You had FUD? Seriously? I couldn’t get to sleep or stay asleep come daylight, worrying so about you two. So, leave the worrying to me: home in a warm dry house sitting near the coffee pot, not far from the iPad. Waiting. For your next blog. So for one brief moment I can stop worrying about you two. Much like an old man, prone on the living room couch, dozing, worrying. FUD indeed.

  2. Linda permalink
    May 29, 2011 9:01 pm

    That one victory brightened up my grading of final papers. While not dire, that activity can be dreary. I don’t think it produces FUD, but it does produce a sort of scattery mindset, a sort of psychic claustrophobia.

Leave a Reply

