Skip to content

Bike Trip/ Trike Trip #XII – Brooktondale to Block Island – 2011

May 20, 2011

We have taken a tandem bike/tricycle trip from Brooktondale to either Nantucket or Block Island eleven times. However, for the last three years, for various reasons, we haven’t made the bike ride. Something clicked this year and long before the big rain started this spring, we decided we’d like to try again. We reserved a cottage (the same we have been in for several years) on Block Island for the first three weeks in June, and since then we’ve been making moves toward planning for the trip on our tandem tricycle.

Organic Engines Troika

Our Tandem Tricycle

I had many reservations about our fitness to make this trip. We are three years older. We haven’t been riding anywhere near as much as we used to. We used to circle various Finger Lakes on a pretty regular basis. Our longest trip this year was to Best Buy in Lansing and back again – a thirty mile trip.

And the weather! Is it ever going to stop raining?

But we kept going with the idea of riding from home to New London (to meet the Block Island Ferry). We plan to leave on May 25 and arrive in New London on June 4. On June 22 we’ll pack the tandem and ourselves into a rented car for the trip home.

This blog is a record of our trip. I’ll try to keep it fairly up to date. The goal this year is to pack light. Very light. Which means no favorite camera, or tripod, or flash:

The camera, tripod, and flash I use at home

Instead I’m taking Tim’s Lumix with the lens that came with it (14-45mm) and one new one I purchased (45-200mm). I thought briefly about limiting myself to my iPhone, but really, that’s too much to ask!

Tim's Lumix with a new lens and a Gorilla Pod

Everything we take has to fit in two panniers and a Bob Trailer:

Our Panniers

Our Panniers

Our Bob Trailer

I have been collecting everything we have from former trike trip, and copying and making lists of what we should bring.

A small sample of my collection

Next I have to think very seriously about every item and tool. Do we really need it? Is it too heavy? What will we do if we don’t have it?

It’s time to get to work!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Alison Vawter Boissonnas permalink
    May 21, 2011 8:12 pm

    Thank you for the link. I look forward to following the adventure and to the day when Eric and I can do something similar 🙂 In the meantime I will snuggle my kiddos for another few years and indulge my wanderlust by reading your blog. Bon Voyage!!

  2. Carol Larkin permalink
    May 21, 2011 9:33 pm

    Hey there, sounds like a super-adventurous trip………………………………..I am definately looking forward to hearing more………………………….that tandem rig is something else again……………..thanks for the invite…………will you stop by at Margot’s?????

    P.S. Thanks for the fabulous poem and picture work of art………………. ! ! !

  3. Ray permalink
    May 22, 2011 3:38 pm

    How do you plan on catching bugs, there is no windshield? Smiling I guess would be one technique. If so, I request a nightly set of teeth photos from whoever sits in front.

  4. Louise Clarke permalink
    May 22, 2011 6:26 pm

    Amazing! Your bike “legs” will come back in no time–but don’t forget the Bengay!
    Please please please let me know when you’re ready for a visitor to Block Island. We’ve been in RI a year and a half and have yet to get there. I miss you!
    Louise

  5. Abby permalink
    May 23, 2011 11:18 am

    Hats off to you and Tim to take the adventure again. I hope you bring on summer weather and if not,, laugh a lot in the rain. Bonny voyage.

    Abby

  6. Anneke Corbett permalink
    May 24, 2011 9:21 am

    I’m enjoying. Bon Voyage! Anneke

  7. Karen Milligan permalink
    May 24, 2011 4:13 pm

    I for one would love to follow your adventure. Count me in. Enjoy and safe travels.

  8. Thom Smith permalink
    May 25, 2011 4:44 pm

    Glad to see you’re underway. Good voyage and be safe. I’ll keep checking in on your progress.

Leave a Reply

